Interpol have announced the name and release date for their upcoming album. It’s called El Pintor (“the painter” in Spanish, and also an anagram for Interpol) and it’s out on September 9 in North America, and out internationally on September 8. It is the follow up to their 2010 self titled album. It will be released via Matador Records.

The band recorded the LP at Electric Lady Studios and Atomic Sound in New York City with James Brown (Arctic Monkeys, Foo Fighters), while mixing was handled by Alan Moulder (My Bloody Valentine, Nine Inch Nails) in London.

View the track listing below, along with an in studio sneak peak of the album recording sessions.

El Pintor:

01 All the Rage Back Home
02 My Desire
03 Anywhere
04 Same Town, New Story
05 My Blue Supreme
06 Everything Is Wrong
07 Breaker 1
08 Ancient Ways
09 Tidal Wave
10 Twice as Hard

Additionally, Interpol have announced plans to tour as well. Have a look at the dates below.


06-05 Burlington, VT – Higher Ground
06-06 New York, NY – Governor’s Ball
06-07 Toronto, Ontario – Field Trip Festival
06-20 Scheessel, Germany – Hurricane Festival
06-20 Neuhausen, Germany – Southside Festival
06-24 Paris, France – Alhambra
06-25 London, England – Electric Ballroom
06-27 Evreux, France – Rock Dans Tous Ses Etats
06-29 Luxembourg, Luxembourg – Rock A Field
07-01 Berlin, Germany – Postbahnhof
07-02 Gdynia, Poland – Open’er Festival
07-03 Roskilde, Denmark – Roskilde Fest
07-06 Werchter, Belgium – Rock Werchter
07-08 Nimes, France – Nimes Festival
07-10 Oeiras, Portugal – Optimus Alive
07-12 Keflavík, Iceland – All Tomorrow’s Parties Iceland
08-01 Chicago, IL – Lollapalooza
08-20 Tempe, AZ – The Marquee Theatre
08-21 Las Vegas, NV – The Pool at The Cosmopolitan
08-23 Los Angeles, CA – FYF Fest
10-03 Austin, TX – Austin City Limits Festival
10-10 Austin, TX – Austin City Limits Festival

The tracks “Anywhere” and “My Desire” have also been performed live in recent months. Have a listen below:


“My Desire”


Leave a Comment!