Experimental pop group Animal Collective have officially announced the follow-up to 2012’s Centipede Hz called Painting With…, which is due to come out February 19 via Domino. They’ve also the album’s first single, “FloriDada”. Check that out below, along with the tracklist.

The album will be available in three different covers, each of which features a painting of one of the band members. Above is an amalgamation of all three paintings, which were done by Brian DeGraw. The deluxe LP edition comes with a bonus 7″ featuring two non-album tracks as well as a “zoetropic turntable slipmat” that “animates when activated in part with a strobe light,” according to a press release. The album was recorded by Panda Bear, Avey Tare, and Geologist at EastWest Studios in Los Angeles. It features contributions from John Cale, as well as Colin Stetson.

Track List:

Painting With:

01 FloriDada
02 Hocus Pocus
03 Vertical
04 Lying in the Grass
05 The Burglars
06 Natural Selection
07 Bagels In Kiev
08 On Delay
09 Spilling Guts
10 Summing The Wretch
11 Golden Gal
12 Recycling


Leave a Comment!